With the change in weather and diminishing forest fires in the area, the Ravalli County Commissioners re-opened "Open Burning" in the Bitterroot Valley.

As of Friday, September 29, residents can burn yard debris in a controlled burn, if they have a burn permit. No burning is allowed in the Hamilton, Stevensville or Darby city limits, however.

Ravalli County is part of the statewide burn permit system, which is available online at BurnPermit.mt.gov . If you already have a burn permit, you must "activate" it at that website or by calling 1-866-212-6318. You do not need to call 9-1-1 to obtain or activate your burn permit.

Open burning season lasts until November 30, unless closed by the state of Montana or the Ravalli County officials.

Warming or cooking fires do not require a permit. They must be less than 48 inches in diameter and in an area cleared of flammable material. Do not leave it unattended.

Fires must be completely extinguished, reminds the Ravalli County Sheriff's Office.

More From 96.9 Zoo FM